Welcome

Since the early 1900’s Blind Bay Community Hall has served as a gathering place for the residents and visitors to the Blind Bay area, first as the local school and now as the perfect place on the lake to gather. Whether it is a social event, a show or exhibit, a private rental, or regular group activity or a workshop our location on the lake is ideal.
We believe that by sharing common values we can increase the opportunity of each individual in the community.

We are particularly proud of our REEDMAN GALLERY which occupies the lower level of the Hall. We believe that there is no better place in the Shuswap to showcase the amazing local talent and artisans.

Contact us if we can provide further information about the opportunities the Hall presents.

Our community

Blind Bay is an unincorporated community located on the bay of the same name and is located at the southwest end of Shuswap Lake, 29 km (18 mi) northwest of Salmon Arm and 6 km (4 mi) east of Sorrento.  The bay is centrally located in the beautiful South Shuswap area with surrounding mountain ranges and offers a natural setting with stunning lake views.  Popular nearby provincial parks include Shuswap Lake Provincial Park and White Lake Provincial Park.

The Blind Bay area is predominantly a retirement community with a large population over the age of 55 and is well-known for its highly popular annual Canada Day celebration which has activities for the whole family and culminates in a spectacular fireworks display.

The Blind Bay Community Hall is conveniently located near a marina and public beaches, with golfing and shopping facilities nearby. Dry camping is allowed on the hall grounds for a small fee. The regional district’s addition of a washroom and shower facility adjacent to the hall is a plus for hall renters using the beach, as well as other visitors to the area.

History

Blind Bay Community Hall has been a focus for community events and activities for over 100 years. The original hall, built in 1907, was constructed of donated logs hauled to the building site by teams of oxen and assembled by volunteers at work bees.

In 1951, the old hall was demolished and the vacant Blind Bay school building was sold to the community for $1 and became the new hall. The area continued to grow, and by 1978 the old school house building no longer met the community’s needs.

The present hall, located at 2510 Blind Bay Road, was built with volunteer labour, donated materials and grants. It has been the hub of community activities since its official opening on October 4, 1980.  Over the years, the hall has been well maintained and received several upgrades.  The most recent renovation included modernizing the kitchen and upgrading the electrical and plumbing.